Of Fin-Tails and Lay Overs

Virgin America is a fascinating airline, combining Micro-transactions with cutting edge amenities. The in-air “Hearty Meal” is available to order from your seat back, and consists of a salami log, wedge of cheese, crackers, pretzels and Welches fruit snacks. $8.00 American.
I sit in the San Fransisco Terminal waiting for my connecting flight to San Diego. Time for another blast from the past to make this blog seem flush. I was honored in 2010 to draw the poster and t-shirts for the Coney Island Mermaid Day Parade. The Scurvy Pirates had many WONDERFUL gigs playing the sideshow, and we still think we have family there. I was given few parameters, but wanted the piece to be special.

A diamond in the rough

A diamond in the rough

This is a color mock up of one of several pitched concepts. I always wanted to get the Cyclone in there, though that never happened. I think the final came out splendid.

GO WHITEFISH!

GO WHITEFISH!

Somewhere I have a copy of the poster I have to frame, autographed by the Mermaid King and Queen themselves. Yes, that’s right, I have Lou Reed’s autograph on a piece of my art.

About unkiedev

Devin T. "Unkiedev" Quin is a cartoonist, writer and musician. His professional art clients include LEGO, Kelloggs, Scholastic and The New York Press. He has self published several comic books, including Robots R' Cool, Zombies R' Jerks and The Living End. He continues to play with his all pirate comedy band, The Scurvy Pirates, as featured on NPR and The Doctor Demento Show.
This entry was posted in Color Art, SDCC2013. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Of Fin-Tails and Lay Overs

  1. I’m kind of impressed you managed to slip a band-aid in there after they (I’m assuming) told you to pretty her up.

    • unkiedev says:

      They never told me to “pretty it up,” but I was told that my art director’s girlfriend did think “We” meaning “Me,” “COULD” meaning “should” take a “Softer” approach, meaning less ugly.

      • I see you speak Brandian™. The best projects are always formed from a director asking a friend or relative completely unrelated to the project what they think they should do.

Leave a Reply

